Home arrow News arrow Wrap-Up: 2014 Australian Superkart Championships  

Driver Profiles
Image Gallery
Contact Us

Wrap-Up: 2014 Australian Superkart Championships
untitled-1.jpg Phillip Island hosted the second and final round of the 2014 Rockpress/Coach Design Australian Superkart Championships. Gary 'Wizzer' Pegoraro came into the round a mere 3 points ahead of Ilya Harpas in the Your Amigo/Apex Management Anderson-DEA. 

Ilya qualified 0.5 sec behind Wizzer to line up 2nd on the gird for the first race on Saturday afternoon. The flag dropped for race one, and Ilya was lining up a move on Gary when the safety car was called out at the end of the first lap. There was a serious crash involving Tony Lappas - who is thankfully okay - which ultimately caused the race to be red flagged. No points were awarded for the first race.

The second race, held on Sunday morning saw Ilya and Wizzer battle all race long. Ilya just inched ahead on the final lap, snatching the victory from Wizzer. Both drivers were on equal points with only two races remaining.   

 Ilya needed either win both races, or win one and finish no lower than second in the other to take the championship. It all came undone in race 3, when a new set of tyres caused the kart to understeer badly, costing Ilya around 1 second per lap. He finished 3rd to Russell Jamieson and Wizzer, who grabbed the win and edged 4 points clear.
Ilya needed to win the final race and have Wizzer finish 3rd or less, in order to clinch the title. The fourth and final heat of the championship was an absolutely epic battle. Jamieson bolted from the gates quickly to establish a 1.5 second lead after the first 4 laps. Ilya passed Wizzer, and began catching Jamieson slowly but surely. Pegoraro, switching out of conservation mode, put the hammer down and passed Ilya - setting off after Jamieson. Utilising his straight line speed advantage, Wizzer (and Ilya tucked under his back wing) reeled in Jamieson. What followed was a titanic 3-kart battle for the lead during the final 3 laps.
The trio were three-abreast at times, and the lead changed half a dozen times in the last few laps. Ilya elbowed his way into the lead on the final lap, with 3 corners to go - but Wizzer used his speed in a straight line to pluck victory across the line by a mere 0.05 seconds.

10408575_10152404542736295_4949766163430749354_n-2.jpg Ilya finished 2nd in the Australian Superkart Championship, with Gary the victor. Last year's champion, Russell Jamieson finished third.

RedIce Racing would like to thank its sponsors, Your Amigo and Apex Management. Thanks go to the Jamiesons, who have provided excellent support throughout the year. RedIce Racing would also like to thank Ian Williams and Barb and Dave Hepworth.

Bring on 2015!